Susan Swartzburg Award

The Awards Committee of the NJLA History and Preservation Section is seeking nominations for the 2016 Susan G. Swartzburg Preservation Award. 

This award honors the memory of a librarian whose leadership in New Jersey inspired and influenced many others in our profession, particularly in the areas of preservation of library materials, archives, and the book arts.
Criteria for the Award:

  • Leadership.    Has demonstrated support for funding of conservation projects; promoting education of conservation issues; and increasing the visibility of archival/history materials.
  • Creativity.   Has developed new and interesting methods of interpretation through exhibits, programs, lectures and publications.
  • Commitment.   Has built an impressive body of work at one or more institutions in the areas of conservation, archives and/or historical fields; has a strong record of participation in NJLA; and has exhibited knowledge of and concern for the basic principles of preservation over time.

Please complete the following nomination form and return it to: NJLA History and Preservation Section Award Committee Chair Deb Schiff, Chester Library Local History Department, 250 West Main St., Chester, NJ 07930 or via email to The deadline for nominations is February 1, 2017


Past winners of this award include:

2003 - Elsalyn Palmisano
2004 - Ralph Ocker
2005 - Elizabeth "Betty" Steckman
2006 - Gary Saretzky
2007 - Joseph DaRold
2008 - Susan Gulick
2009 - Peggy Norris
2010 - Michele Stricker 
2011 - Miriam Kornblatt
2013 - Frederic C. Pachman
2014 - Tim Corlis
2015 - Deborah Mercer
2016 - Robert Stewart
2017 - Sarah Hull

Please fill out the nomination form below and sed it before the Feb. 1, 2017 deadline to Deb Schiff, Chair, NJLA History & Preservation Section Awards Committee, Chester Library Local History Department, 250 West Main St., Chester, NJ 07930 or via email to